Skip to main content

The Real Housewives is a reality television series that centers around the “real lives” of affluent housewives around the nation. Each sub-series is based in a different area of the United States, and some of the latter installments are featured in different places around the world. But just how many Real Housewives series are there now?

How many ‘Real Housewives’ series are there now?

According to sources, there are now a total of fourteen Real Housewives series. This is including international version of the show, as well as those based around the United States. Although there are nine or more spin-offs of the show on top of these, those shows (like The Real Housewives of Tel Aviv) do not belong to the American franchise.

Which places in the US do the series take place?

Of the fourteen total franchise television series, nine of them take place in the United States. This includes two series in California – one of which is based in Orange County, and the other in Beverly Hills. There are also series based in New Jersey, New York City, and Potomac, Maryland. Washington, D.C. has it’s own Real Housewives series, as do Dallas (Texas), Atlanta (Georgia), and Miami (Florida).

Which international locales have their own ‘Real Housewives’ series?

There are five international versions of the Real Housewives series. This includes on based in Cheshire, United Kingdom, and one in Vancouver, Canada. Athens, Greece has it’s own series, as does Melbourne (Australia) and Auckland (New Zealand).

Which series came first?

Real Housweives
Real Housweives | Teresa Giudice via Instagram

The original series was The Real Housewives of Orange County. It aired in 2006 and, since it was so well received at the time, it resulted in two spin-offs that aired together in 2008. These were The Real Housewives of New York City and The Real Housewives of Atlanta. The Real Housewives of New Jersey aired only a year later, and the remaining series followed suite until all US based series were on the air in 2016.

The first international series was Vancouver, which aired in 2012. Two years later, The Real Housewives of Melbourne made it’s debut. The international shows, it should be noted, never gained a substantial following like the first few Real Housewives series did in the United States. In fact, The Real Housewives of Athens only had only season.

Which series are the most popular?

The Real Housewives of Atlanta has proven to be the most fruitful (and dramatic) series. These ladies had everything that makes a great reality television series – shady backstories, cheating husbands, extramarital affairs, style, and a whole lot of money. With seven seasons under their belts, fans still cannot get enough of these ladies.

The Real Housewives of New Jersey is a second fan favorite – and the one with the cast more people know by name. Unfortunately, two of the starring cast members were set to go to jail for bank fraud and that shook things up a little too much. The original series, The Real Housewives of Orange County, is still going strong after nine long seasons and a lot of casting switches.

Which series failed utterly?

The biggest failure was The Real Housewives of Athens, and this is due to a combination of things. First, fans complained that none of the women were actually Athenian, and that they wanted to see real women from Athens who “lived up on the big houses on the mountains.” The second reason? The show aired at the height of the Greek financial crisis and a lot of the glitz and glamour was hidden for fear that the government of Greece would swoop in with accusations of tax evasion.

The bottom three series is rounded out by The Real Housewives of Vancouver, which was put on “hiatus” after it’s first season, and The Real Housewives of Melbourne, which proved fruitful only after the cast began pulling pranks on one another – Australian style, of course.